By Jennifer A. Grady, Esq. and Gayane Khechoomian, Esq.
The California Legislature was quite active in 2014, resulting in several substantial changes to the law for 2015 that are employee-friendly. Employers should take note of the changes to the law described below.
I. CHANGES TO WAGE AND LABOR LAWS
1. Minimum Wage Increases
The minimum wage increased statewide, with even higher increases in particular cities:
- California’s minimum wage of $9.00 will increase again to $10.00 on January 1, 2016;
- San Francisco wages will increase to $11.05 on January 1, 2015; then to $12.25 in May; wages will increase every year thereafter until the minimum wage reaches $15.00 in 2018;
- Oakland will increase to $12.25 on March 2, 2015;
- San Diego will increase to $9.75 on January 1, 2015;
- Note: exempt employees must meet new minimum wage laws
Posted in Business Advising, Employment Law Advising
- Tagged 2015 employment laws ca, AB60, arbtiration agreements, buiness lawyer, Business Advising, Business Attorney, business consultant, Business Lawyer, California law, driver's license, employee handbook, employment advising, employment law, employment law attorney, entrepreneur advisor, entrepreneur attorney, minimum wage increase, New laws, paid sick leave, posters, small business lawyer, Startup Attorney, wage and hour attorney
by Jennifer A. Grady, Esq.
In California, all employers must meet workplace posting obligations. Fortunately, workplace postings are usually available at no cost from the requiring agency. The Department of Industrial Relations requires employers to post information related to wages, hours and working conditions in an area frequented by employees where it may be easily read during the workday. Additional posting requirements apply to some workplaces.
To ensure that your Employment and Labor Law Posters reflect changes in the law effective January 1, 2014, you may want to order the latest version of the poster from the requiring agency, or a company that specializes in all-in-one posters.
The following changes took place in 2013:
- Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)- updated February 2013;
- California Franchise Tax Board (FTB) Notice to Employees- updated May 2013;
- Whistleblower Protection- updated July 2013;
- Cal OSHA- updated July 2013;
- Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) Discrimination & Harassment- updated November 2013;
- Employment Development Department (EDD) Unemployment Compensation- updated November 2013;
- Effective July 1, 2014, California’s minimum wage increased to $9.00 an hour.
For a list of available safety and health postings, visit the Cal/OSHA publications page.